Every few weeks someone books a session at a Kansas City location that turns out to charge a fee, require a sign-in, or ban portrait sessions outright. This guide lists what each location's own policy page says, checked on September 29, 2026. Rules change; the official link is included for every entry so you can confirm before your date. I check the current rule for every location I photograph.
The quick answer
| Location | Portrait sessions | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loose Park (KC Parks) | Permit required, paid or unpaid | $25/hour personal; commercial from $50/hour | 2–5 business days to process; rose garden closed to sessions weekdays 7am–4pm |
| Union Station | Photo pass required | $25 under 10 people; $75 for 10+, weddings, engagements, graduations | Informal fee waived Thanksgiving–New Year's; no props; no mini sessions without approval |
| Liberty Memorial (WWI Museum) grounds | No permit | Free | Indoor portraits in natural light only; commercial needs 72 hours' notice |
| Nelson-Atkins Sculpture Park | Free online sign-in before each session | Free (parking rates apply) | No professional photography inside the museum |
| Kauffman Memorial Garden | Prohibited | — | Snapshots only |
| Country Club Plaza | Management consent required | Not published | Private property; contact management |
| Crossroads sidewalks (public right-of-way) | No city photo permit | Free | Traffic-control permit only if you close a sidewalk or lane; murals on private walls need the owner's permission |
| Powell Gardens | No reservation; everyone pays admission | Adults $15, seniors and military $12, youth $8 (through Nov 1, 2026) | Business hours only; stay on paths; commercial requests not currently accepted |
| Overland Park Arboretum | No permit for individual visitors; commercial photography needs a permit | Admission $7 adults; commercial minimum $300/day | Whether a paid portrait session is "commercial" is not defined; no changing clothes on site; gates shut at closing |
| Weston Bend State Park | Approval process for professional or for-sale photography; no fee published | Not stated | Day-use areas 7am–sunset |
| Longview Lake (Jackson County) | Photo Permit Application required | "Fees vary"; insurance certificate may be required | Request by phone or email; no online form |
| English Landing Park, Parkville | Film & video permit for commercial shoots; personal use exempt | $25/day | 15-person crew limit; park open 5am–midnight |
| Independence city parks | Not stated on the city site | — | Structures need a special-use permit; parks open 6am–11pm |
| Lee's Summit parks (Legacy Park) | Not stated on the city site | — | $100 special-event permit applies to crowd-drawing events; parks open 5am–11pm |
| Shawnee Mission Park, Antioch Park and other JCPRD parks | No permit for senior, family, or wedding photography | Free | Commercial use permit only for non-personal use: $60/hour for county residents |
Loose Park and other Kansas City, Missouri parks
Kansas City Parks and Recreation states that "a permit is needed for formal posed/portrait photography (paid or unpaid) everywhere in Loose Park" and on the grounds of the Shoal Creek Living History Museum in Hodge Park. Fees are $25 per hour for personal shoots and from $50 per hour for commercial shoots, issued in one-hour increments, with two to five business days needed to process a request. Requests with less than two business days' notice are not approved, and refunds are not issued.
The Laura Conyers Smith Municipal Rose Garden is unavailable Monday to Friday from 7am to 4pm for maintenance. Weekend sessions are scheduled in two-hour blocks (Friday 4–6 and 6–8pm; Saturday and Sunday from 8am to 8pm), and up to four permitted photographers may be in the rose garden at one time. Nobody is allowed in the fountain, no area may be blocked off, and no inflatables, tents, or awnings are allowed anywhere in the park. Permitted weddings do not need a separate photography permit. In 2026, no photo permits are issued during Homecoming windows on October 2, 3, 9, and 10.
For other KC Parks properties, the policy page says photography for personal enjoyment is welcome, but a permit is needed if your shoot impacts others or the environment, brings in props, happens after hours, or is commercial. The same page also says "if you are being paid or paying someone for photography services, a permit is needed," which reads as broader than the Loose Park rule. The page does not reconcile the two, so for a paid session in another KC park, call the personal photo shoot contact at 816-513-7532 first.
Apply through the KC Parks photo, film and video permit form.
Union Station
Union Station bases its fees on the occasion and group size, not on whether the photographer is professional, and the rules apply inside and outside the building out to Pershing Road. Personal snapshots are free. An informal session (fewer than ten people) costs $25, waived between Thanksgiving and New Year's Day, when external lighting and studio equipment are prohibited. A formal session (weddings, engagements, graduations, or any group of more than ten) costs $75, waived if the group is part of an event at Union Station. Student groups pay $25, waivable with advance notice from the teacher.
Passes are paid online or at the box office, and everyone needs a receipt, even for a waived fee. Photographers cannot run scheduled, paid mini sessions anywhere on the campus without advance permission from Union Station Marketing; props and decorations are not allowed; helium balloons are banned; and professional sessions are not permitted inside Holiday Reflections. The building is open 6am to midnight. Source: Union Station photography guidelines and fees.
Liberty Memorial and the National WWI Museum
Outdoor photo shoots on the grounds "can take place at any time and do not require an escort." Indoor portrait photography is allowed without an escort if shot in natural light only, with no artificial lights, reflectors, or diffusers. Tripods need special permission, stairways cannot be blocked, and large bags, live floral arrangements, and props are not permitted. Do not sit or stand on the wall of the Great Frieze. Commercial shoots must be approved and scheduled at least 72 hours in advance, with fees depending on the size of the shoot. Through November 13, 2026, some entry points to the Memorial Courtyard are closed for a light installation. Source: WWI Museum policies and permits.
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
Portrait, bridal, and any other professional photography is not permitted inside the museum. Outdoors in the Donald J. Hall Sculpture Park, which is free and open sunrise to sundown, all photographers must complete the museum's Outdoor Photographer Sign-In before each session. Equipment must stay at least six feet from works of art, nobody may touch, climb, or lean on the sculptures or the reflecting pool, museum facilities cannot be used for changing or make-up, groups may not block paths or doorways, and confetti and glitter are banned. Portrait and bridal photographers may sell their photographs to the clients in them; commercial use needs a rate sheet from events@nelson-atkins.org.
Kauffman Memorial Garden
The garden's own page is unambiguous: "Portrait photography is prohibited in the Memorial Garden. This applies to individuals, groups, and professional photographers visiting the garden for the sole purpose of organized photo sessions." Snapshots during a visit are welcome. Admission and parking are free, and private functions are not permitted. Source: Kauffman Memorial Garden.
Country Club Plaza
The Plaza is privately owned. Its code of conduct lists "any professional photography or videography without prior consent from management" among activities that will not be accepted. No fee or application process is published; contact management through info@countryclubplaza.com or (816) 753-0100 before planning a session there. Source: Country Club Plaza code of conduct.
The Crossroads, the West Bottoms, and public sidewalks
Kansas City, Missouri has no city-wide film or photo permit: the KC Film Office states that "there are no permits issued by KC Film Office or the City of Kansas City to film in KC." The only city permit is a traffic-control permit, needed if you close a sidewalk, lane, or street, which costs $84 plus closure fees and takes seven to ten working days. Ordinary portrait sessions on a public sidewalk do not trigger it. Entertainment districts such as the Power & Light District, the City Market, and the Plaza set their own rules, and murals on private walls belong to the property owner, so ask before using one as a backdrop. Source: KC Film Office FAQ.
Powell Gardens
Powell Gardens defines portrait photography as senior, engagement, graduation, family, and professional headshot sessions. No reservation is required, sessions take place during business hours only, and everyone, including the photographer, pays admission at the Visitor Center: through November 1, 2026 that is $15 for adults, $12 for seniors and military, $8 for ages 5–12, and free under 5. Photographers and clients stay on paths and accessible garden areas, tripods cannot go in flower beds, drones need staff approval and an escort, and nothing may be moved, picked, or climbed. Weddings and private spaces such as the chapel and Missouri Barn require a reservation, and commercial photography requests are not currently accepted. Hours run Wednesday to Sunday, 9am to 5pm, through November 1, 2026. Source: Powell Gardens photography policy (PDF) and hours and admission.
Overland Park Arboretum
The city's Arboretum etiquette page says photography permits are not needed for individuals, while commercial photography requires a permit with a minimum fee of $300 per day; it does not say whether a paid portrait session counts as commercial, so I confirm with the office before booking. Admission is $7 for adults and $3 for ages 6–17, changing clothes on site is not permitted, and the gates shut at closing time, which falls before sunset in late autumn. The Overland Park Arboretum photo guide covers the permit, the rules, and how to time a session around closing.
Weston Bend State Park and Missouri state parks
Missouri State Parks says that for photos "for professional use or sale, there would be a process to go through to gain approval," but publishes no form or fee. The underlying regulation requires written permission to conduct business in a state park. Weston Bend's day-use areas are open 7am to sunset year-round, with gates open 7am–9pm from April 15 to October 31 and 7am–6pm from November 1 to April 14. Call the park office at 816-640-5443 (staffed 9am–3pm daily) before booking a paid session. Source: Missouri State Parks laws and regulations and Weston Bend hours.
Longview Lake and Jackson County parks
Jackson County Parks + Rec requires a Photo Permit Application for photography within its parks, with fees that "vary according to the usage request and site," and professional photographers may need a certificate of insurance. There is no online form: request the application by calling 816-503-4805 or emailing parksrec@jacksongov.org. Source: Jackson County special activity permits.
English Landing Park, Parkville
Parkville issues a film and video permit for commercial shoots on public property at $25 per day, with a 15-person crew limit; personal-use photography needs no permit. Nature Sanctuary shoots are only permitted near the entrance, parking on the grass carries a $75 minimum fine, and the park is open daily from 5am to midnight. Still portrait sessions are not specifically addressed, so confirm with the Parks and Recreation Program Manager at (816) 741-7676. Source: Parkville park reservations and permits.
Independence and Lee's Summit
Neither city's parks pages mention photography. Independence requires a special-use permit for any structure such as a tent and runs its parks 6am to 11pm. Lee's Summit's $100 special-event permit covers events that draw a crowd, including weddings, and its parks are open 5am to 11pm. A normal portrait session in either city's parks is not addressed by any published rule; if you are planning something larger, call the parks department first. Sources: Independence park rules and Lee's Summit park rules.
Shawnee Mission Park, Antioch Park, and other Johnson County parks
Johnson County Park and Recreation District is the clearest of the lot. Its special-use permit page says a permit is not required for "photographers taking senior class pictures, family photos, wedding photos/videos, or photography/video for educational or personal use," and adds under weddings that "wedding photographers do not need a permit. All we ask is that you follow the pack in pack out motto." A Commercial Use Permit is needed only for photos or video used for something other than personal or educational purposes (training films, music videos, website and calendar imagery), at $60 per hour for Johnson County residents and $80 per hour for non-residents, up to four hours. Shawnee Mission Park is open 5am–11pm from March through October and 6am–8pm in winter; Antioch Park is open 6am–10pm in summer and 7:30am–8pm in winter. Source: JCPRD special use permits.
Overland Park city parks and Deanna Rose Farmstead
Overland Park publishes no photography policy for its city parks; the only citywide rule that touches it is "parks may not be used for commercial purposes," which the site does not define. Deanna Rose Children's Farmstead publishes no photography policy either (admission is $5 for ages three and up, free after 2pm Monday to Thursday, open April 1 to October 31, 9am–5pm). For either, a call to the city at 913-895-6000 or the Farmstead at 913-897-2360 is the only way to get a definite answer. Source: Overland Park parks.
How I handle permits
For every session I photograph, I confirm the location's current rule before your date, apply for any permit that is needed, and tell you the fee up front so it never appears as a surprise. If a location has closed, changed its fee, or is booked for an event, I will suggest a comparable spot nearby. See the best photo locations in Kansas City for the alternatives, or get in touch with a location in mind.